T Nation

Question for Military Vets

Got a buddy who just joined Nat'l Guard and left for basic a week ago. Seemed to have everything figured out and was pretty excited. He graduated from college in '06 and signed up with a program that will put him through Physician Assistant school after 4 (or 6? I forget) years of service. I would love to do something similar and if anyone has any advice or input, I appreciate it.

I graduated from college in '07 with a double BA in Int'l Relations and French and I've been twiddling my thumbs ever since. I work for a medical clinic but it's def not what I want to do with my life. I'd love to go to law school and from what I understand, there are programs through the military where they will eventually pay for it.

I know this is a broad question, but I've heard horror stories about recruiters promising the world and then guys getting stuck with a bad deal. Any advice for someone looking into OCS or other avenue?

Are you looking to go active or Nat guard?

Honestly, I’d be excited to go active. My buddy went Nat Guard 'cuz he didn’t want to be deployed. I’m at a stage in my life where I need to do something other than go through the motions. Ya know?

Having done both active and guard duty (Cobra pilot) I prefer the guard duty if going to pursue a career/school. The guard will usually pay upto 75% of your tuition to a state school (Guard is state run, reserves are federal if you choose that route) and you can also get the GI Bill at a prorated rate. Active duty will give you a shitload more money (including the full GI Bill) but you do have to live your life on the military’s terms - not yours.

Your buddy may not get deployed to a combat zone (Guard does go there however) he could more likely get deployed to backfill AD that went to said combat zone. So, instead of being Iraq/Afghanistan, he will be playing with his dick in the middle of Kansas or some shit. I would rather go to Iraq - JMO.