Question about Squat Variations

Long time lurker, first time poster.

I started training at home 2 years ago when lock down started. I thought I would hate it, turns out I love it.

I have a basic set up, barbells, plenty of plates, dumbbells, squat rack, bench, leg curl / extension attachment for my bench, a pull down cable, and some bands.

Now for the question…

I do a squat variation 3 days a week, back squats, front squats, and speed squats. I do my front squats in the rack position. That works fine for lower rep strength work, but when I up my reps in a hypertrophy block my upper back gives out before my quads. Holding the weight for 10-12 reps is just too long for my upper back.

I need something that is more quad focused but easier on my upper back. If I was in the gym I would just load up the leg press, but I don’t have the room for one in my basement. Holding a dumbbell for goblet squats would not be nearly enough of a load percentage of my back squat to be worth it since my dumbbells only go up to 110 lbs.

Would Zercher squats be a good option for hitting my quads and keeping my upper back less fatigued than front squats? Are there any other options that would meet my goal of loading my quads while keeping my upper back fresh?

Thanks in advance!

Doing Bulgarian split squats holding dumbbells will double that to 220 pounds. Same goes for lunges and step-ups.

No, considering how much the upper back and core are involved in Zercher squats.

1 Like

Can you train at the gym some days?

You could buy/build yourself a slant board, that’d allow you to do very deep and very upright back squats with a lot of forward knee travel.

2 Likes

If you have a dip belt, and make / buy a couple boxes you can do belt squat. Poor-man’s dip belt can be made from a pool noodle, 1/4” chain and a carabiner.

Also, if you have a landmine attachment you can attach the dip to that for belt squats rather than using a loading pin.

I do have a dip belt, didn’t think of that