T Nation

Question about my Routine

I am 6'4 and about 195 lbs. I have been working out for about 15 months now and I recently started a split-day routine. My split-day routine was as follows:

Day 1: chest and triceps
Day 2: back and biceps
Day 3: shoulders and legs

However, I've decided I want to build my chest up more, so I've decided to incorporate a fourth day, so I work my chest twice a week:

Day 1: chest and triceps
Day 2: back and biceps
Day 3: chest and thighs
Day 4: shoulders and hamstrings

Would this be a good idea? What is more effective: working your chest twice a week, or merely once? I was thinking about applying this concept to the rest of my body as well (next I will work my biceps twice a week instead of my chest), so is this a good idea, or does it defeat the purpose of a split-day routine?

Any input would be great. Thanks.

I don't know. NO ONE knows. Not even you. But do you know how you'll find out? By giving it a try.

No one can tell you if its too much.I understand this is your first post, but what ever happened to trial and error?

You can get as many posts and responses as you want, but NO ONE will be able to give you a real answer.

at 6'4 and 195lbs, you don't need to focus on any one muscle group.

What did you weigh 15 months ago when you started working out...?

i started working out last august, but I wasn't going very hard or getting enough protein (i wasn't taking it very seriously). I just started going hard about six months ago and have gained about 25 lbs. When i started 15 months ago i was probably about 165. I also lost about 5 lbs. this past weekend because I had the flu.

r u saying i shouldnt be on a split-day routine?

No, I'm saying you don't need to be giving extra attention to any particular muscle groups since you still just need to fill out your frame.