Question About Home Gym for Oly. Lifts

First things first:
Yes, I’m new to the forum. Yes, I’m new to olympic lifting. Yes, I tried using the search tool before asking.

Now for the real post:
Now that I’m starting to transcend into real lifts instead of cute little iso exercises, I’m starting to hate my ‘gym’ more and more. I’ve been essentially banned from doing these lifts. Switching gyms isn’t much of an option for me right now… just going to quit and make my own in my garage.
What would you guys suggest for basic equipment?
Would a sub-$400 budget be reasonable?

You can get a cheap set for around that price not including shipping, but if you’re planning on using this set more than temporarily I’d suggest you spend that on just the bar. You’d also probably wanna supplement the cheap set with metal plates for squatting.

What about finding a gym already set up?? There are 9 listed clubs in Mass on the USAW website. I don’t know where you are, but why not check that out?? http://weightlifting.teamusa.org/states-for-state-map/massachusetts

On the garage gym, you could do it, but you would be buying a cheap bar and even cheaper bumpers. And you would be limited in your workouts due to the equipment limitations. Although this would be good for the short term, you would need to invest more money down the road for better quality equipment that will last.

For reference, a GOOD quality bar will run about $350 to well over $600. Bumper sets will run another $200 minimum for anything decent. Add to that about $150 to $250 for a platform (if you build it yourself), depending on how much wood runs in your area. You’re talking about around $800 minimum. Just something to think about!!

Why is switching gyms not really an option?