Question About Frequency

Hey everyone. Ive been visiting this site for a while but I just signed up in hopes you guys (or girls) could help me out.good ‘base’ mass on me.

I graduated 2 yrs ago from hs at 130 lbs Im now about 160 so Ive got some

so for the past few months Ive been doing this split:

mon-chest/tris
tues-back/bis
wed-legs/shoulders
thurs-off
fri-chest/tris
sat-back/bis
sun-legs/shoulders
mon-off
tues-off

so after doing this Ive heard all of this talk about frequency of hitting muscles. Ive always been a fan of each body part 2x a week but it seems like alot (at times if not all) of people do each body part 1x a week with alot of volume…

so after me doing this split for X amount of months I thought I would change. My main reason for changing is because my arms are lagging so I want to prioritze bis,tris, and shoulders (and abs of course lol).

my routine now Ive thought of is:

mon-chest/tris
tue-back/bis
wed-shoulders
thurs-legs
fri-off or arms
sat-arms of off
sun-off
mon-repeat

the thing is I dont know if I can get enough work on my ‘main’ body parts (chest,back,legs) by only doin them once.

I would probably do 4-5 exercises at 4-5 sets (8-12 reps) for big muscles and on the days I train my arms with another Id probably only pick one exercise but do 6 stes for them and them hit them hard on firday or saturday.

So I guess my question is when it comes to frequency for muscle building is it “better” to do each BP 1x a week and hit with alot of volume or is it “better” for muscle building to hit each muscle more frequently i.e. 2x a week. also for prioritizing arms should i work them tiwce…OR is my first workout “optimal”.

I hope someone can help such an in depth question but everyone here seems pretty educated so Im looking foreward to posting more often!

thanks again!!

How tall are you? 6’2" at 160 and 5’2" at 160 are vastly different.