Question about Fish Oil

Hello!

I’d like to get some opinions and maybe testimonies from people who
use those oils. I have been using fish oil daily for many years. I recently
heard positive stuff about black currant seed oil and also evening primrose
oil. I’m not sure though if there are risks or side effects when taking
these oils.

I don’t really understand EPO (evening primrose oil). I did some research and some articles seemed to say that it reduces inflammation while others sounded as if it encourages inflammation by raising AA.
I also read stuff which said EPO is good against depression but I also read testimonies from people who said that it made their depression worse.

Someone also told me that it’s dangerous to supplement oils, even fish oil, without getting your fatty acids measured in the blood. But I can’t afford paying hundreds of dollars for fatty acid blood profiles. I don’t even know if this would make much sense. I mean I’m sure if you order such tests then they always find something abnormal. But then what do you do about it?

I just don’t know why taking some fish oil (2grams or so) daily could be bad. I mean I often eat so unhealthy stuff and also don’t count unhealthy fats then why should taking some healthy fats be so bad?

What’s your take on this? And is anyone here who takes EPO or black currant seed oil?

On youtube there are videos of a pretty good looking bodybuilder who swears on black currant seed oil and he said it helps losing fat. Not sure if this can be generalized but black currant seed oil also has a lot of interesting features which can be read about on pubmed which is why I’d like to take it.

No need to do fat analysis. For those with no identifiable EFA’s they simply need some.

The point is essential fatty acids. Most are not getting these in their diets. EFA’s are very important for brain function and cell wall function in general.