Question about fat and muscle

Hello everyone first time posting in this section, alot of good info flowing here.

My question is should one try to gain some muscle first then try to cut or should one cut then gain muscle. This is my current situation as I like to lose weight.

The only problem is that since I’m not putting up good numbers should I try to gain some muscle first or stick with a fat loss program (I’ve been lofting for about 6 months if this helps)? Thank You

I am sure everyone will be glad to lend a hand in this but we need some more info. first. Such as weight, height, BF%.

To give you an loose idea. The higher amount of fat you have when you start a gaining cycle the more of the weight that you add will be from fat. Vise versa with the leaner u are, more of the weight will come in the form of muscle.

Hello -

Im no expert. But in my own preference I would try to gain some more mass and then cut. That way when you lean out you will not look as small.

You been lifting for 6 months. I would continue training for another 6 months plus. I would go with a serious mass gainer diet. But I would make sure to gain as much as LBM as possible. If done correctly you can get some good mass and stregth with not to much fat. I lesson I learned the hardway.

Once you feel you had gained enough mass then I would cut.

From my experience it’s best to get lean first. Even if that means looking skinny temporarily. I used to experiment with my body all the time. The biggest mistakes I made was massing when above 10% body fat. I’d gain more fat than muscle. As long as i’m 10% or lower, I usually put on mostly muscle with barely any fat.

I agree with most of the above. As stated before, Fatter people get fatter faster. If you’re storing fat now then cut down and work on putting on muscle later.

Thanks guys for the info, I’ve been doing 5x5 system for past 6 months (beginner and sometimes not on a regulary basis).