Question About Belts

I’ve been toying with the idea of buying a belt and was just hoping for a little advice.

So, here is the situation. I’ve been lifting (like a girl) for a few years but recently have become interested in powerlifting. I’m not strong at all but I would like to compete. (I started focusing more on squat, dl, bench this summer and pulled 175 for a dl PR this past week…just to give you an idea of how new and not strong I am)

When is it a good idea to use a belt? I’ve gone through a couple threads about belts, haven’t really found a good answer. I know that you should only use them on heavy sets, but is it wise/necessary to use as a beginner? I’m thinking that it might be smarter to learn how to use it properly as a beginner rather than trying to adjust later. But then again I’m probably completely over thinking this and it probably doesn’t make a huge difference either way.

The biggest problem with a belt is that it is easy to become dependent on it. This why most people will tell you to use it only for your heavy sets. When you break it down, people become dependent on it because they neglect their core strength. I think a belt is great tool especially for squats because I can push against the belt and create greater inter-abdominal pressure.

I don’t really think there is a learning curve for a belt. It might take a session or two to get used to it, but it is pretty easy. If there is a tricky part, it is figuring how tight that you want it. I like it a little loose because I can push out against it better.

As a beginner I don’t believe that you need the belt. In fact, I would recommend not using a belt. You are still learn the basics of technique. I believe that the belt might negatively affect the learning process.

thanks! thats pretty much what I thought.