Quad Injury Rehab?

Anyone suffered an upper quad injury, most likely a rectus femoris strain or tear that may know some rehab exercises or protocols for it? I’ve taken the last 7 weeks off of any quad work other then stretching and bodyweight squats trying to work through any strain/partial tears. I can’t go see a doctor (no insurance), and am too broke for anything expensive. So if anyone has any links or info regarding how I can rehab it other then just basic RICE protocol I’d greatly appreciate it.

I tore my quad (Grade 2) about 3 years ago. I’ve now surpassed my previous back squat numbers. It takes a while to heal and frankly I still have mental battles with myself about stepping under a heavy (for me) barbell.

The very best things I did for it were taking time off (as you seem to have done), and then single leg squat variations: Bulgarian split squats, step-ups, etc. I made/make sure I went through a full ROM rather than just trying to load the bar up.

I’m not a doctor; just thought I ought to mention that.

Use a foam roller/massage tool on the area before and after training to reduce adhesions. Use higher reps for your therapy, but occasionally drop the volume down every so often if fatigue is setting in. Only do the exercises that you can tolerate, but stick with light loads. Remember, for every bad rep, it takes multiple reps of correct form to heal an injury(assuming it was exercise related).

And lasty, focus on sleeping well and eating like a horse. Recovery is just as important as exercise, and neglecting that will keep you in pain longer than you want to.

Hard to say without seeing you, but here’s some advice and 3 good rehab exercises for hip flexors/quads.