Q-Ray

Has anyone had any experience with the Q-Ray bracelet or any other magnet-like pain control device? Normally, this sort of product seems like gimmicky BS, but today I saw Bill Kazmeier endorsing it pretty enthusiastically on TV. Has the Kaz traded in his integrity for money or might this product have some effect on chronic pain?

The science of these products is that a magnetic field shuts the ion gate in the nerve cells which transmit pain signals to the brain. This in turn can reduce inflamation. Most of the magnetic bracelets on the market wouldn’t do anything more than placebo effect. What they supposedly do is set up a magnetic field from the proximity of dissimilar metals. Unfortunately, this magnetic field is too weak to penetrate the flesh to enough of a degree to do any good. I’ve had some experience with theraputic magnets and they do work, but these are magnatudes more powerful than any bracelet. If you want to try something, then I’d suggest finding some one who markets Magna-Bloc or Nikken.

I know a physics professor that said that a magnet would have to be the size of a telephone pole to even slightly affect the body. Just a thought.

Cream, I bought one of these on the sole reason that after 3 months, if I felt nothing I would get my full money back(as my dad did after 2). It is the weirdest shit I have ever tried. I felt like I was doing a detox for about 5 days, ie like death. The smells, and colours i was creating were quite expressive. However, within a week the nagging tendonitis in my tricep had gone(it felt, colder?), and i slept better, my recovery decresed, all the little nagging in juries seemed to go. Even the stress fracture i had on my foot seemed to heal(after 5 months of pain). I wqas a complete non believer, but helping out a friends dad with his new business. It was one of the wierdest things i have experienced to date. Cost me £40, and it still works. Give it a try