T Nation

pyramid schemes

I’m a college student and will graduate here at the end of May. I’ve been looking for a job and I’ve recently been asked to join one of those pyramid companies. It seems like a good plan and everyone that works there is really psyched up about it. They all claim to make alot of money. Have any of you ever been a part of one of these and how has it worked for you? The company is called international dynamics.

Do they have a website you can direct us to? I’ve seen a lot of them, some good, most designed to NOT pay you. Some things to look for – ask this question: If you froze your organization and couldn’t bring any one else in, what would happen to your income? If it goes down (i.e. you get kickbacks for getting people to join), then steer clear as it’s on it’s way to FTC investigation (illegal pyramid). Another thing to look at is the product line – is it a very narrow product line? Diversity is key. Also be on the look out for “binary” systems. Very difficult to get off the ground.

Every single one of these things that I’ve encountered attracts new members using the EXACT same tactics as religious cults. Perhaps not as sinister, but still nothing to take lightly. Those of you involved in Multi Level Marketing may flame me, but I’ve seen a few people disassociate themselves from their friends and families because “people just don’t understand what I’m doing”. A cursory web search turned this up:

http://www.csj.org/infoserv_links/ group_categories/grptype_mlm/lk_amway.htm

Dig around this link, and do some more searches. Do a few hours of independent (i.e. away from the influence of the MLM rep-don’t even TELL them you’re researching both sides) research and think long and hard about it. Good luck.

I think dealing heroin is more honorable than these.
it is very cult like.