Push/Pull Comp, Drop the Squat?

Be easy folks first time posting in a forum. Here is a some general info, 37 years old been strength training since 1997 mostly the big 3 with a lot of high volume/frequency chin-up and back extensions for good measure. I work in the oil and gas industry in Bakersfield,Ca. Have been training/competing in jiu jitsu for 15 years. Do to work family and community college I am putting jiu jitsu on pause for a while. So to scratch my competitive itch I am thinking about competing in Push/Pull comps. In the USPA sub-master 181lbs. tested division. Now that that is out of the way I am hoping you’re combined experiences can answer a few of my questions.

1. What would you recommend for setting up a 3-4 day split for push/pull?
  2. How often should I squat?
    3 Are there any drawbacks from dropping the squat for Push/Pull?
  3. If I do drop squatting will I create imbalances? Increase the Rick for injuries?

Thanks

Would need more info about you to assess. Squats could potentially help a lot but may not be high priority or appropriate depending on your circumstances/considerations.

Like say your competition is far away then you may want to put some time into a volume phase. Squats are great at building the quads and glutes.

Say you are already very jacked in the lower body and barely fit in the weight class as is. Then squats would take a different role/priority.

Say you pull sumo and use much leg drive. Squats and squat variations could help in many ways.

1 Like

Keep squatting. Use the squat as an assistance excercise on deadlift days.

If I’m focusing on building my deadlift I pick a squat variation that translates best. I pull conventional in competition so training may look like: Deadlift, high bar close stance squats, front squats. I also really like doing close stance box squats with a highish box.