Purpose of 'Burn Out' Sets in PL?

Sorry if this is a silly question. I searched the site for burn-out sets, and I have seen them mentioned and used, but no explanation as to why.

I’m by no means any expert in the powerlifting game, but where I’ve been training, often at the end of a Max Effort exercise we’ll do a burn-out set of something like 50-75% of 1RM x 10 or to failure of the same exercise.

I could understand this from a bodybuilding perspective but not from a powerlifting one. I asked why we do this and no one had a really decent explanation so I turn to you guys. Enlighten me, please!

This could be done to add a bit of volume to the session. Usually (RE) work means more than one set.

I am a beginner been only training for a year so im no expert. BUt for me personally i make better gains when i add volume. I just started 5/3/1 in dec with the boring but big assistance because my progress had stalled and the 5X10 has really helped me. For the longest i was just going heavy all the time but i really like going heavy followed by alot of reps.

increased hypertrophy, increase work capacity

I do this often for a few reaons:

1. My arms (triceps) need size and strength
  2. The extra volume makes ME work not as stressful
  3. Absolutely destroying every weak fiber with one burn out set, then going straight into a strength building exercise (like doing 1 rep max set with moderate dumbbells and then going for a new 6rm on JM Presses) builds tremendous strength and forces you to use fibers that arent normally recruited.

I don’t see any reason to put in a burnout set in any program that is powerlifting related. Burning out is just that, burning yourself out and trying to catch up to recover for the next training day.

On another note I do find that I occasionally enjoy a good rep challenge with my training partners, just to do stupid things.