T Nation

Pull Only Workouts plus Squats Forever

Hi Guys,
I’m figuring out a long term way to train around an irreparable Elbow Injury by avoiding all classical pressing exercises.
I’ve been training consistently in a home gym for four years 3-5x week, last 6 months i’ve been doing 5/3/1.
I will really miss the Overhead Press but so be it…

Earlier thread with info about my injury for whoever is interested:
https://forums.t-nation.com/t/chronic-elbow-injury-alternative-exercises-to-press-and-bench-press

The goal is to avoid compression of the elbow joint. So everything that pushes a weight onto your wrist as opposed to grabbing something and pulling it with an increased lever arm.

So in my line of thinking a fly, raise or kickback may be considered a pulling movement utilizing pushing muscles.

1. I’m thinking about trying the workout plan for natural lifters since the exercise selection is quite big and the intensity techniques are something i’d like at the moment. I think this program might be well suited for my adaptations. Please correct if i’m wrong.
  • I want to keep training the back Squat and Deadlift so i’m thinking about switching the leg press or leg extension and the leg curl or ham raise to accomodate them.
    Id have to change the order of leg exercises around to allow for enough rest between squat and deadlift.
    Does that make sense?

• Id switch benchpress and incline benchpress to dumbell flyes.
    Overhead pressing to more db raises and cable/band raises.
    Dips to band kickbacks, i think it might be close motor pattern triceps wise.
    Anything to consider here? Different exercise suggestions definitely welcome.

1. What do you think, can a complete physique (upper body wise) be achieved and maintained this way? I know switching multi joint exercises to isolation exercises is not considered a good idea, but still.