PT Curriculum

I’m not really new to training, but I am new to training others for the purpose of fitness. I’m about to enroll in some classes at The Norwegian School of Sports Sciences to become a fitness instructor and PT, so I figured the beginners category would be fitting.

I browsed some of the curriculum literature today, and started reading about nutrition in Teri S. O’Brien’s “The Personal Trainer’s Handbook”. What I saw made me somewhat reluctant as she seems to be very much against high protein and low carb diets. Instead she advocates low fat. I thought the days when that was considered sound advice were long gone, but there it is. Apparently low carbs not only makes you stupid because the CNS needs glucose to work properly, it also makes your body’s ability to metabolize fat incomplete. While I’m sure it’s correct if taken to extremes, I can’t really imagine it to be the case if done properly and with a few high carb loading days, right?

Reading further I found a suggestion for training a woman with 28 per cent body fat, who would like to reduce to 23. The goal seemed almost defeatist. I mean who the hell would want to diet only to stop at 23%? She’s still a fat cow, right?

Still, that wasn’t what got to me. It was the program. This fictitous woman, whom I can only assume has not done much training in her life, was supposed to do two moderately intense cardio session and two intense ones a week on top of three resistence training sessions. That’s a grand total of seven work outs in one week! Am I wrong or is she likely to become injured, or experience severe CNS fatigue after about two weeks?

Has anyone here read this book, and in case what are your thoughts?

Here’s a link:

I pray that I will never be required to read that book.

As far as training the women, if she hasn’t trained before or recently then it’d be smart to start lower than 7 workouts (maybe 3 or 4) and add one per week. But diet has more to do with her losing that weight