Prowler/Sled Training

I have a prowler shipping to the house and will be here in a day or two.

Long story short: My cardio is shit and I can’t bear the boredom of long distance cardio, so I’ve always done sprints of one form or another. Lately I’ve taken to the stairmaster and just trying to get a good sweat going before I lift (5-6 mins/400 stairs) but nothing overly taxxing as I’ve been in a deficit or at maintenance for months now.
I can’t high rep squat or deadlift to save my life, and frankly all leg movements >12 reps has my legs dying regardless of weight… I have managed to do a few 20-rep squats at 275 but not with my 10RM (315) as prescribed for “true” breathing squats. I guess what I’m saying is that I recognize high-rep leg movements is absolutely my weak point.
I’ve always done bodybuilding/powerbuilding type training routines and I’m a relative noob to most cardio/energy systems and prowler/sled work.

Anyways…
I need to have better conditioning all around, but also would like to use this as an implement to help burn some extra calories. I wouldn’t be turned off at the idea that this could also build up my legs a bit more, though my legs are already big(ish). I’ve read into the 5/3/1 Prowler Challenge (5/3/1 Forever) and think this may be a good way to go assuming I can hang with the prescribed weights, but I have little other reading material revolving around this piece of equipment… So I was hoping one of you beautiful people might have some advice for me.

What do you all recommend to burn calories, improve cardio (V02 max?), and maybe add some muscle?
(I can add in any muscle groups not targetted by sled work myself, let’s just call this “accessory work” like Jim Wendler would.)

1 Like

Use the prowler to do this (Livisleds)

2 Likes

I’d not worry about any of these and set a performance goal that you know will achieve the above. For example: