Protien Drinks, Explain?

Hello,
I am relatively new to body building. I have occasionally lifted wieghts for sports, but never trained seriously. I have started lifting to get my ass back in shape and attempt to live longer than 65, I am 39 now.

The question:

Please explain whey protien to me. I am a register nurse so I might understand the molecular explaination but its not needed.
In specific, give me your feedback on meal replacements, protien shakes and there like.

I have read enough to know the real thing - turkey, chicken, egg whites etc… is best. What makes a Protien meal replacement drink worthy? I have an affinity for Labrada’s products.

My trainer has based my nutritional intake on Phil Kaplans supportive eating, lean protiens, fiberous carbs, and starchy carbs 3 - 3.5 hours while awake. I have done well. Its amazing what muscle building and a reasonable diet can accomplish. 30# and 4 inches in the waist over 12 weeks has sold me.

I feel in control of my body again. Muscles are starting to firm up and work like they should.

Any suggestions and hints would be appreciated.
Thanks,
C

[quote]40forward wrote:
Hello,
I am relatively new to body building. I have occasionally lifted wieghts for sports, but never trained seriously. I have started lifting to get my ass back in shape and attempt to live longer than 65, I am 39 now.

The question:

Please explain whey protien to me. I am a register nurse so I might understand the molecular explaination but its not needed.
In specific, give me your feedback on meal replacements, protien shakes and there like.

Any suggestions and hints would be appreciated.
Thanks,
C[/quote]

Not really sure what you need might want to read the protein roundtable series here the various product threads etc.