Protein Supps vs. Protein Foods

Hey all, beginner here who loves to geek out and research the heck out of whatever I’m into. Currently that is a body makeover, as I just turned 30 and I want to get into my best shape ever.

One of the confusing things I’ve come across is protein. I understand Casein vs Whey vs Soy. What I don’t get is what kind of protein normal food is. For instance, is chicken more like casein or whey, or completely different from the two? Should you eat more protein foods, or take protein shakes? If protein food is better than protein supplements, why doesn’t anyone recommend having a cup of chicken soup (just broth and shredded chicken) before a workout instead of a shake>

Sorry if these have been covered ad nauseum, but I did a search and couldn’t find anything (nor was there anything like it in the beginner’s section that I could find.)

Think of protein as slow and fast. It’s more complicated than that, but that’s what’s important. Whey is fast, everything else is slow. After a workout you need fast uptake of protein and carbs so whey and high GI carbs are needed then. The rest of the time, slow is better because it’s like time release. You want it in your system constantly in order to be used when needed for muscle growth.

Stu

I understand that, but I haven’t heard where “protein foods” fit in. Is chicken fast or slow? Beef? Shrimp / crab? Fish? Non-meat / non-dairy such as sprouted grains, wheat germ, and brewer’s yeast?

I do understand the whey 20ish mins vs casein 2hrs deal since there is a ton of information on those two. Unfortunately, I can’t seem to find a ton of info on regular protein foods, though (probably because you can’t sell chicken et al online like you can protein shakes.)

Multiple choice:

The following Amino acid breakdown is:

a)Whey
b)Casein
c)chicken
d)beef

Protein & Amino Acids
Amounts Per Selected Serving %DV
Protein 39.4 g 79%
Tryptophan 158 mg
Threonine 651 mg
Isoleucine 731 mg
Leucine 1359 mg
Lysine 1196 mg