T Nation

Protein Shaker Stink

i know this is hardly a big problem…

but ive found an old shaker in the back of my cupboard and it STINKS. i dont have dishwasher and no matter how hard i scrub it… it still stinks

any tips?

I usually just fill it with a bit of dish washing liquid and then HOT water to the brim, and let it sit for a few hours.

After a while though I just decided to throw away smelly shakers, and make sure to keep new ones clean all the time.

“i dont have dishwasher”

then buy one.

I’m a student

there is no where to put a dishwasher in my digs

i cudnt afford one if there was room

i cant really afford to buy another one. i need to keep this one

[quote]rsg wrote:
I usually just fill it with a bit of dish washing liquid and then HOT water to the brim, and let it sit for a few hours.

After a while though I just decided to throw away smelly shakers, and make sure to keep new ones clean all the time.[/quote]

x2 let it soak in hot water with dish washing liquid

[quote]add1cted wrote:
“i dont have dishwasher”

then buy one.[/quote]

Don’t bother. She will end up nagging you.

[quote]Zap Branigan wrote:
add1cted wrote:
“i dont have dishwasher”

then buy one.

Don’t bother. She will end up nagging you.[/quote]

That’s a good one!

With reference to the shaker cup, throw it away and buy another one…They’re pretty cheap.

jpb

Yeah, throw it away. Then, buy a new one, but this time make sure you wash it after each use.

Problem solved.

Put a teaspoon or so of baking soda in the shaker and fill it with hot water and give it a shake. Then let is soak in hot soapy water for a few hours. I’m pretty good at forgetting shakers in my car for a few weeks and this usually does the trick.

[quote]analog_kid wrote:
Put a teaspoon or so of baking soda in the shaker and fill it with hot water and give it a shake.[/quote]

LOL!

That’s gonna make a big mess.

[quote]analog_kid wrote: