Protein Shake Makes Me Feel Bloated

I am new to serious working out and I just started a new diet. I am trying to have a protein shake b/f and after working out. However, after I drank my first shake I was seriously bloated. The shake was 3 scoops of Opticen protein powder, med banana, tbl of peanut butter mixed in 2 cups of skim mild. Any ideas? Or is this just normal?

If bloating is going to be a problem for you quitting now is the best advice anyone can give you.

Drink the shake further away from your workout so it can digest a bit.

I have switched to whole foods both pre and post. I dont get that bloated, full feeling anymore and feel better also. I have noticed no change with liquid vs solid foods, or fast carbs vs slow carbs.

Most important is getting food before and after your workout. What way you do it is up to you and your preference.

Also, if new to protein powders there’s usually the need to acclimate your gut to them. Your gut will usually adapt after a period of time and there isn’t a problem. Also, quality of protein can cause problems. I couldn’t use EAS protein due it it giving me WMD like never ending gas. I don’t have that problem with Metabolic Drive however.

D

ive found for whatever reason mixing a banana with milk and protein powder bloats me as well. tweak the recipe and remove the banana one time, see if that works. If not remove the peanut butter or something else, like i said just mess around with it but keep the calories comin…

[quote]BONEZ217 wrote:
If bloating is going to be a problem for you quitting now is the best advice anyone can give you.

Drink the shake further away from your workout so it can digest a bit. [/quote]

lol bonez you are cracking me up today.

[quote]waylanderxx wrote:
BONEZ217 wrote:

lol bonez you are cracking me up today.[/quote]

whoa dude wtf, where did the facial hair come from? lol last pic i saw of you you looked 16 in the face…

Digestive enzymes.

[quote]Fuzzyapple wrote: