Protein Powders

Hey everyone I’m new to this so just have a couple questions. I’m 5’10 160 and looking to bulk to a lean 175.

I try to be as natural as possible and eat good clean foods, because if I don’t I just feel like shit. So I’m wondering if protein powders are necessary? Like if I’m eating a shitload of meat/veggies daily do I really need to take protein shakes?

Also, What supplements are important when doing a healthy bulk. Currently I am taking D, Fish oil, and Calcium.

Any help is appreciated!

Since you weigh 160, you probably don’t know how to eat a shitload of meat. Learning how to do that would be great. You don’t NEED protein powders, but it’s a very easy way to get more protein.

Why do you say meat and veggies? Are you doing low carb?

I’m usually a pretty understanding guy, but when people suggest that protein powder and creatine constitutes being “unnatural” I just have to shake my head.

[quote]kakno wrote:

Why do you say meat and veggies? Are you doing low carb?[/quote]

My guess is that he’s going on the vaunted low carb, low fat bulk that will leave him an amazingly jacked 175 at 5’10".

OP: Failure to launch.

[quote]overstand wrote:
I’m usually a pretty understanding guy, but when people suggest that protein powder and creatine constitutes being “unnatural” I just have to shake my head.[/quote]

First of all I’m not trying to criticize and say that at all. I’m just trying to say that I don’t usually feel that well after them - so I try to stick with whole foods.

My diet is high fat, high protein and I am trying to minimize carbs. On training days I am upping my carbs. So yes I am trying to do this in a low carb fashion, if possible.

Anyways, if anyone is looking to help I’d appreciate it.

You don’t need them, are you tracking your calories? Track them for a week without changing anything and see where you end up. You need to tailor your needs around what eating schedule works best for you.

[quote]K-Man32 wrote: