Protein on the USCTrojan619 Diet?

Hi all:
I am brand new to these forums but have lurked for quite some time.

I’ve finally decided to take the plunge and really strap down and properly form a workout/nutrition plan.

I don’t think I’ll have any problems with the work-out plan as I have some previous experience (hit the weights when I was 18 but never really got any gains), but the nutrition aspect of it will be a bit of a challenge for me.

I have decided to follow in USCTrojan’s foot steps ( http://www.T-Nation.com/readPhysClin.do?id=1859240 ) however I am a bit concerned at the diet he was following.

I’ve taken the liberty to throw everything USC was instructed to eat into the FitDay software application…
On an off-day USC appears to eat 3,033 calories, 80g fat, 232g of carbs, and 366g of protein.

On an on-day USC eats 3,752 calories, 89g fat, 340g carbs, 474g of protein.

My biggest concern is the PROTEIN. 474g of PROTEIN.
Am I going to KILL myself following in USC footsteps?

I was impressed with his progress.

Let me know what you guys think.

thanks!!!

ps. I am 21 now, 5"11 and 145lbs (and definitely am an ectomorph…)

Don’t jump to that high a protein intake if you’re not used to it. Add an amount of protein you can tolerate, and then slowly build from there.

[quote]My biggest concern is the PROTEIN. 474g of PROTEIN.
Am I going to KILL myself following in USC footsteps? [/quote]

No, but your farts will kill others.

/thread

[quote]Doug Adams wrote:
Don’t jump to that high a protein intake if you’re not used to it. Add an amount of protein you can tolerate, and then slowly build from there.[/quote]

This is absolutely crucial.

I used to drink an absurd amount of milk.

Do you think I’d be ready?

[quote]joefresh wrote:
I used to drink an absurd amount of milk.

Do you think I’d be ready?[/quote]

If you want to eat to get bigger and stronger, you’re going to have to be more specific than “an absurd amount”. How much exactly?