T Nation

Protein Before & After Workout?

I recently came across the T-Nation site and it’s been very useful!

I have a question – Charles Staley also writes an section in Best Life magazine & in the April 2006 edition, he talked about adding protein before and after a workout. His recommendation was Metabolic Drive MRP before the workout and Surge by Biotest after the workout. I was considering using this on my workout days. Has anyone used this type of setup on workout days and found it to help?

I was also intrigued by Spike as a daily supplement. The description says without the jitters of ephedrine, which is what I used to get BIG time on products that had ephedrine. Can anyone recommend this as a daily ‘pick me up’? After reading the description, it sounds perfect, but so have other products I’ve used (not from T-Nation).

Since I am new to T-Nation, would you recommend other supplements here to check out? I am NOT looking to add 5-10 pills, drinks, etc. to my daily routine, but since I don’t drink pop, coffee, etc. I don’t get much caffeine stimulation that could help throughout the day.

Brief background on my workouts - I follow the Mike Mentzer methods fairly close. Currently I’m on a 1 day per week strenuous workout and 1-2 days of light cardio. Now that the weather is breaking here, golf will be added to the mix.

Thanks!!
Chris

Well I’ll only be able to comment on the Spike since that is the only Biotest supplement I’ve actually used; and I gotta say that Spike has pretty damn good for what I was looking for. Essentially it was a preworkout stimulant since I usually workout before class, but the effects carried over into the classroom as well. I was more alert, and just felt more “into” it. . . if that makes sense.