Protein: 220g a Day?!

Okay so i’ve been reading some. Apparently, I should be having 1g per bodyweight. For me, that would be 220 pds… or 220g of protein.

Now…

How in gods name can I possibly consume that much?! Thats a lot! Chicken breast dont even have that much… and Id have to live off bars and shakes for the whole day to get it.

Am I missing something? Yup, im a total noob but it seems hard to get that much protein in me!

220 is not hard to get. Eat 7 cans of tuna thats ~210 g (and costs less than $5). Eat 5-6 chicken breasts. Or 2 pounds of ground beef has ~160 grams. Gallon of milk has ~120g.

I hit 200g by noon. I think you can get in 220 by the end of the day.

I weigh around 155 i get 228 grams of protein a day.

you will have to eat many meals a day, and make sure they all have an ample amount of protein.

I’m going to suggest what almost everyone else will, and that is to MAN UP and keep a food log. By charting everything that you eat each day, you’ll realize that eating 220g of protein per day isn’t really that hard, especially if you have access to protein and bars (stay away from SOY protien too by the way, it’s bad for guys).

Also, don’t forget that total calorie intake matters, and that what those calories are matters as well!

I’m going to have to suggest you read all of John Berardi’s articles on nutrition, such as “Massive Eating Reloaded” which can be found in the archives, they will provide you a very good foundation to start eating as if you have a goal in mind!

hope this helps.

also, you might wanna post what your goals are and then people can help you out more specifically

Okay… so yes, by eating like a horse I can gt 220g per day. But obviously at the expensive of a lot of calories.

At the moment, I am attemptign to keep my calories lower.

Plus 7 cans of tuna… as much as I like tuna… would make me wanna vomit to eat that much! or drink that much milk.