Prohormones for Women?

I recently found out by my doctor that I have a hormone imbalance my doctor recommends me to take steroid shots. I hate needles and I was wondering if there was a pro hormone that I could take instead. I am currently taking birth control and I have a Strict workout routine.

Nicole: There is no need for that. Progesterone, estradiol and T creams work well. Injections might be cheaper as the delivery would be more efficient. Can you provide more info about you, your labs, age, health issues etc

As you are on OBC, you are not in the pool of considerations for older women. OBC have progestins, which are intended to work like progesterone but do not. Progesterone protects your arteries from the effects of estrogens. Progestins do not. That is why you see warnings on these products about blood clots, heart attacks, thrombosis and strokes. Progestins are HPOA [hypothalamus pituitary ovarian axis] repressive and your levels of LH and FSH are reduced, so your ovaries make less progesterone and an progesterone deficiency is created with progestins taking over. Testosterone [T] and free testosterone [FT] levels also drop and many women then suffer from reduced libido. FT also drops because SHBG increases which binds T. Sometime this and libido drop are permanent when OBS is discontinued.

Many women do well with an IUD that lasts for years and that does not play havoc with your hormones.

Speaking of hormones. If you do not use iodized salt, you need to read the “thyroid basics” sticky. While it does not directly apply to you, the ‘advice for new guys’ sticky has good definitions and links to things that do apply at Wikipedia.

When you post here, please “tag me” here: https://tnation.T-Nation.com/free_online_forum/sports_training_performance_bodybuilding_trt/ksman_is_here