T Nation

Progressive Movement Training

I recently read Beyond Bodybuilding by Pavel and came across Progressive Movement Training. Does anyone have any thoughts or experience using a similar method. PLEASE,serious comments only.

I've been lifting for over 20 years and this is nothing new to me and I had tried to do something similar when I was younger but impatience and being bombarded with muscle mag routines sidetracked me. Now, I'm older(39+), more patient.

I've been using 5/3/1 for 11 months with success. But, I would really like to see how successful this type of program would be. I'm contemplating using it for the bench press day of the 5/3/1 program, followed up with some Big But Boring.

For those that aren't familiar with Progressive Movement Training. I'll use the Squat as example. It consists of beginning with a very heavy weight and only moving it 1-2 inches at the lock out position for 2 sets of 20 reps. Every 3r or 4th squat session you increase the Range of Motion (ROM) by 1, 2 or 3 inches using the same weight and drop the reps by 1,2 or 3 reps. How often you increase the ROM depends on your recovery and rotation of that particular exercise.

It may take a several months for you to significantly increase your ROM. And, even if you don't bottom out, your 1RM should increase because you've worked down to your stick point.

This routine that has been attributed to Paul Anderson's success in the 50s.

Serious replies only.

I have tried training like this before in a way...

Watch some videos of Gillingham training deadlift. He starts with the bar at a high rack pull, say just above the knee, and on a high box, then after the 16 weeks, they meet with the bar on the floor. Right now I train deadlift by pulling off boxes and then doing rack pulls until a few weeks out from competition.
I have seen great gains coupling this with my singles training (about 50 lbs in less than a year).

I do not know if I would do it for squat though.