T Nation

Progressing Well, Except Bench

I have been lifting for about 8 months. In that time I have gone from being weaker than my grandma, to perhaps weaker than your grandpa. I am not very strong by T-Nation standards, but I think my progress thus far is reasonable. I started barely able to deadlift 100, now I’m repping 315 pretty easily. My squat started at about 100, now I’m just under 300. I could barely do 1 rep with 75 pounds on a dumbbell row, now I can do 10 reps with 100 pounds. I can do 15 chin-ups pretty easily, and 20 dips(up from 8 and 10 respectfully)

I’ve gained about 35 pounds of mass, mostly muscle, and I while my progress isn’t the most amazing, it is enough to keep me going and, I feel pretty good about it.

But, despite this progress, my bench confounds me. I started benching barely able to do 95 for 10. Now I can do 145 for 10, I can barely hit 170 for 1.

Now, granted, my bench has progressed. It feels like it has progressed a lot slower than everything else has, and it’s always felt like a lot more of a struggle to improve it.

I didn’t really care too much until I noticed a friend of mine who started benching around the same time as me with roughly the same weight, he hit 200x3 today. So he’s had a solid 100 pound increase in 8 months, I’ve had a shaky 75 pound increase. But, in every other lift, I have progressed faster than him. I can deadlift more than he can, squat more, do more chin-ups, more dips, heavier rows…etc.

So, it leads me to believe that I might be doing something poorly on the bench, maybe my technique is off, or my sets and reps.

The one thought I have is that, with a 6’6" wingspan, the leverages are working more against me(my arm length is almost a foot longer than my friend’s), that perhaps, I need to adjust my technique to compensate for that.