T Nation

Progress Stalled, Selecting a Program

I’m not exactly sure if I should post this here or in the bodybuilding section. I’ve been lifting seriously for almost 2 years now, but still consider myself to be a beginner.

Anyway, here lately progress has stalled and its time for me to start a new program. I’ve been considering CT’s OVT, SOB by Waterbury, or ABBH 1 by Waterbury as well. I’m leaning more towards OVT.
I’m 6’ right around 195 depending on the day. My diet is around 4200-4500 cal. Ultimate goal is to get up to 225 at around 8-9% bf.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Look. There is no shortage of routines to pick from. It is sick the amount of information, science, supplements and routines that it paralyzes us. I’ve fallen victim to it myself, mulling over the so called perfect routine, the perfect diet, blah blah blah. I’m willing to bet that someone who has an average diet, without supplementation Who trains consistently for years is probably going to make the same gains and progress as someone who has an over thought out diet and spent a ton of money on supplements.

Training consistently and for a long duration of time will yield. One thing you need to realize is that not everyone progresses at the same rapid rate that is so often spoken of in these forums and articles. In fact I’m willing to bet that sort of progress that we all strive to attain exist only in a very small percentage, nonetheless that is not the point I’m trying to make. You said you have been training for 2 years, that is really not a very long time at all in grand scheme of things. In addition I think you are in the right mind to still call yourself a beginner.