Progress from 50 to 51 Years Old

Have trained off on and since high school sports. I was in the worst shape of my life at the end of 2019 after turning 50 and decided to change things. Progress has been better than expected and an anxious to see what the next 12 months of training will bring. Currently, I’m 5’11" at about 195 lbs and a recent DEXA scan indicated 14.2% BF (27 lbs of fat). I’d like to lose 5 to 7 lbs of fat and then start a lean bulk.

1 Like

Seriously 14% isn’t fat especially for someone 51.

1 Like

At that age, on the dexa chart that is considered lean. You are better than ideal.

1 Like

Thanks to both of you for the replies. I have been reading T-Nation for a while, but this is my first time posting and I failed to post the progress photos. At the end of 2019, I was 221lbs and probably high 20’s to low 30’s BF% and I had lost a lot of strength. I started training and eating “better” the week between Christmas and New Year’s 2019. The attached “before” photo is from 8 February 2020. The “after” photos are from last week. I have trained consistently since that last week of 2019 even during the Covid shut downs and my nutrition has been reasonably strict since September 2020. My strength has increased significantly (I haven’t been this strong in 20 years) and, more importantly, my overall health is much better. I’m no longer on blood pressure medication, no longer on allergy medication and my blood work looks better than I can ever remember it. Thanks again for your replies and I look forward to contributing to the community here.

IMG_1982

3 Likes

Losing 5-7 lbs is going to take some determination for you. You don’t have easy weight to drop anymore.

1 Like

Looking good, @kp014! Congrats on the progress and welcome to the forums.