T Nation

Progress Advice

Hi guys,

I'm new to this, so go easy on me!

Been training for about six months now, and had a slow progression. I've gone from 10st 6lbs to 11st 4lbs and while the bulk has been clean, I am developing a bit of puppy fat around my lower abs.

I have an ectomorph body type.

My old routine was OK for me, but I think my muscles have kind of recognised my process, so I'm trying something new now.

This is it:

WORKOUT A:

Squats- 3 x 8
Bench Press- 3 x 8
Chin Ups- 3 x 8
Deadlift- 3 x 8
Dumbbell Military Press - 3 x 8

Reverse Curls 3 x max

WORKOUT B:
Stiff-legged Deadlift: 3 x 8
Dips- 3 x 8
Lunges
Bent over rowing
Dumbell Shoulder press

Ab Crunches 3 x max

I workout three times a week, following pattern A-B-A, then B-A-B and so on. I do CV work (mostly HIIT) 2 days a week!

My target goal is 12st. So here are the questions I have:

1) On my previous routine, I was a lot of 5 x 5. Should I keep doing that for a bulk,(coz Ive heard its better) or try 3 x 8 instead?
2) Should I cut the current puppy fat I have before continuing my bulk, or keep bulking regardless?
3) Is it counter-productive to put in CV work during workout days? If so, what are the best ways to warm up (other than stretching?)

Thanks!!

First, get on a proven program. You picked great exercises, but you have no method of progression.

A little bit of fat on your lower abs is nothing to worry about. Im not familiar with the Stone and pounds system so I have no idea how much you gained, but it seemed like a good amount. Keep gaining muscle.

For God's sake do NOT cut out your conditioning work. It is important to be in good shape.

since you call it just a bit of fat, I'd keep bulking. you likely won't progress much (if at all) if you freak out every time you lose an ab. keep bulking until you're uncomfortable with your level of leanness/fatness, then post back here (not in RMP) with pics if you want an honest opinion.