T Nation

Programming Help

Hey guys i am fairly new to lifting and i just started about 9 months ago, i was doing a basic bodybuilding workout for a while then switched over too starting strength. As of now i am 6’2 212 and my lifts are the following…
squat 330 3sets of 5 (still progressing) goal 550
bench 270 3 sets of 5 (stll progressing) 1rm 315 goal 405
standing oh press 165 4 sets of 5 (still progressing) goal 5reps 225
deadlift 440 1 set of 5 goal 600 stalled at 440

it was hard squatting 330 on monday wed and friday however as starting strength requires squatting 3x a week, does anybody have any program that i could follow that would allow me to keep progressing and allow to get past my platue on deadlift?

What’s your current program? Assistance exercises? Age? Diet? When did you switch to starting strength? Do you deload?
So you only deadlift every other training, and only do one set of 5??

Those are some pretty impressive numbers for 9 months lifting.

[quote]grippit wrote:
What’s your current program? Assistance exercises? Age? Diet? When did you switch to starting strength? Do you deload?
So you only deadlift every other training, and only do one set of 5??[/quote]

His current program is Starting Strength, as he said in his original post,

TC: Look into Jim Wendler’s 5/3/1 program. It has a reduced squatting frequency while still allowing you to progress with all of your lifts. The assistance work in that program should be beneficial as well.

[quote]grippit wrote:
So you only deadlift every other training, and only do one set of 5??[/quote]

Learn the program before commenting please.

OP: As mentioned above, get on a program that will get you to where you want. Even switching to Texas Method or Madcow would help. Yes, 5/3/1 is also an option.

madcow