T Nation

Programming for Power Output, Plyo/Squat Questions

Hi Glenn/CT,

I am in the process of putting together a program for myself, focusing on improving power and strength. Over the years I have read alot of websites and books and worked alot out for myself, but on this occasion I would appreciate your guidance.

My goals are to improve my vertical jump/sprint speed 30m sprint and general athleticism and become generally faster.

I have been training on and off for 20 years at a decent level 3-4 times a week.

Over the last 10 years, due to work and committments, this has reduced to twice a week (although I learnt how to olympic lift and this made my twice a week routine at least more productive) and over the last 6 months I am now back to training 3-4 times a week doing a mixture of full body workouts and splits which change dependant on my time. I am also doing alot more conditioning via sprints and cycling.

Over the last 20 years, I have always focused on strength movements and included oly lifts over the last 10 years, but neglected focusing on explosive strength (plyos) for alot of the time.

Over the last 20 years I have learn’t the below which will hopefully help you answer my question:

1. I cannot get on with high volume and medium + intensity. It always leads to overtraining, I always hypetrophy but do not make massive strength gains. (I thought this was initaially capacity/conditioning related, but have realised lower volume 3-4 sets x 5 reps, 4-5 sets x 3 reps, 5x2 on lower body works very well where 4x6, 10x3 etc overtrains me.
  2. When I have tried to include plyos to improve explosive strength, this has generally lead to overtraining, even when I have started with basic exercises such as squat jumps. I have to be very careful not to overtrain
  3. Sprints are ok, but as soon as I do any all out sprinting I seem to overtrain