T Nation

Programming for Older Lifter with Wear and Tear Issues

I’m at a point where I have to change the way I train. I’m 49 but I’m falling apart. I have a bad shoulder which hurts when I do pressing movements. I have a bad back which grinds when doing squats and dreads. And I have a bad knee in which one leg takes most of the load when squatting. I most definitely made things worse while continuing to train.
Any suggestions on modifying my 531 programming. I’ve been using 531 for about four years and been doing 2x2x2. I definitely got strong using 531. Several buddies that I have referred the program to will not change to anything else. In my case, old man winter is catching up to me. I blame it on improper programming for the 29 years I did not use 531 and just lifted ignorantly.

I’m sorry to hear about the issues you’re having.

We train to be stronger, mentally and physically. Compound barbell lifts are perhaps the most effective way to get stronger. In your case, you are beaten down and have pain beyond what most non-lifters your age have. You know that training with compromised health has made it worse. Barbell lifts are painful, non-symmetrical, and grinding. You are 49, and do not rely on physical feats to make a living.

Why, oh why, are you modifying what is derailing your health? Take up another hobby. Learn a new sport, start taking yoga, join a hiking club, learn to surf (or swim if you’re not coastal). Let’s say two years down the road you are healed, have learned some new life skills and made friends, and want to get back at it. Then start some 531. You will quickly make up for lost time, and be far ahead of where you will be should you grind out some painful reps “just because” over the next two years. Why are you crippling yourself? Football players do it, but they have a short career and large financial incentive to do so. You have neither of these reasons.

Is there anything you can do which doesn’t cause pain?