Programming for Golf

Hey Thib. Quick question: How would you program strenght training for someone wanting to increase the power of their golf swing. Just for a averegde man looking to increase power and speed for golf swing? Assuming he only practise golf twice a week.

Thanks!

@The_Myth this guy may have some advice, hope you don’t mind the tag.

I would say having extra power has more to do with technique than any physical strength so strength training would be pointless in my opinion, unless you are absolute top of your game with perfect technique it’s really not going to help. I’ve been out driven by a 12 year old girl and also a 70 year old man.

Thanks for the tag.

Credibility - I was a PGA Professional for a few years, now I’m trying to get jacked.

Distance is a function of primarily two things, centeredness of hits and clubhead speed. Making contact on the sweet spot is the number one influence on distance, so @kd13 is mostly correct when he says,

Now if you want to get really technical and shit, you can delve into the four accumulators of the power package according to Homer Kelly and The Golfing Machine, something that is a little wacky for sure. Basically, you can generate more club head speed by maximizing some angles and pressure points. But, you’d be much better off by purchasing some impact tape and getting a few lessons.

Final thought - power is generated through your legs and core, so if you want to do something to help, that would be the place to start. Throwing a medicine ball against the wall, squats, planks, shit like that.