T Nation

Program Review, Help Appreciated

I have here a program I put together when I started lifting and have been improving since. I started weightlifting last February but now I'm trying to get serious with my training.

The program is as follows:

Mon.
Back & bicep: Deadlift 1x8
1 arm row 3x10 each hand
Pulldowns 3x10
Reverse Curls 3x10
Wed.
Chest & triceps:Bench Press 3x8
Incline Bench 3x8
Dips, weighted 3x12
Triceps pulldowns 3x10

Fri.
Legs: Squats 3x8
Leg press 3x10
Lunges 3x8
Glute ham raises 3x10
Standing calf raises 3x15

Sat.
Shoulders & abs: Sitting shoulder press 3x8
Lateral raise 3x10
Dumbbell front rise 3x10
Leg raises 1x90

Not being any genius in the area, it would be very appreciated if I could get a critical review on this program.

I am 18 years old, about 6ft tall, 180 lb, not sure about fat% but I would guess around 12-15%and my goal ( unsure if it is realistic, would also like opinions on that) is to add about 18 lb of muscle in a year or so. I plan to use this program for most of the time but also have plans to add in Smolov squat program sometime this fall and maybe other programs.

**Fixed the setup, now shows Sets x Reps
Any help much appreciated.

You've got a good ideas or two in putting together this program, but I'd change a point or two. Here's my suggestion:

Mon.
Back & bicep:
Deadlift 8x1
1 arm row OR Pulldowns 10x3
1 arm row OR Pulldowns 3x8-12: choose ONE to do HEAVY (10x3), and ONE to do LIGHT (3x8-12)
Barbell Curl 10x3 (reverse curl is a secondary/auxillary exercise; if you want to keep it, do a lighter scheme, like 3x12)

Wed.
Chest & triceps:
Bench Press 8x3 OR Incline Bench 8x3 OR Dips, weighted 12x3
DB flyes OR peck deck 3x8-12 (maybe not really necessary...try and see)
Close grip bench press 4-6x3
Triceps pulldowns 3x8-12 (same as DB flyes)

Fri.
Legs:
Squats 8x3 OR Leg press 10x3
Leg extension 3x8-12 (same as DB flyes)
Lunges 8x3 OR Glute ham raises 10x3
Standing calf raises 8-10x3

Sat.
Shoulders & abs: