Program For New Client...

Okay, so I’m new to the training business and I’m trying to design a program for my first client. Any opinions (from the well respected T-Nation members) would be appreciated and I’m sure very helpful.

It’s not that I feel this program is bad by any means, it’s just that I would hate for someone to pay for my services and not get their moneys’ worth.

First off the client and goals;

Male. Mid-thirties. Never touched a weight before. Has never been very active at all up until this point. (I get the feeling it was his wife who wanted him to get into better shape). No real injuries or physical disabilities other then that of being really out of shape. Slight postural problems, with slight back pain from exertion. Again, just out of shape.

Goal: #1. Lose about 10lbs. #2. Gain some structure and stability. #3. Begin to add muscle to his frame.

The program is as follows. *1 hour.

CARDIO (20-25mins)
Day 1 & 2

-Recumbent Bike (for postural issues):
-5-7 min warmup
-12 min in appropriate HR Training Zone
-Quick cool down.

• to progress each couple of sessions.

SIMPLE CIRCUT (To keep HR high)

Day #1 Lower Body

A. Leg Press (Quad Dominant Movement)
B. Dumbbell Step Lunges (Hip Dominant Movement)
C. Step-Ups (Hip Dominant Movement)
D. Standing Calf Raise
E. Seated Calf Raise

^*Repeat as time permitting.

Torso Curl (Crunch)
Superman

Day #2 Upper Body

A. Horizontal Chest Press (Horizontal Push)
B. Seated Row (Horizontal Pull)
C. Standing Military Press (Vertical Push)
D. Lat-Pull Down (Vertical Pull)
E. Seated Bicep Curl
F. Tricep Cable Extension

Torso Curl (Crunch)
Superman

*Reps: 8-12
*Set: 1
*TUT: 2-0-4
*Load: 20% 1RM
*Rest: 0 - Very Little

Any changes or opinions on this?

I’m no expert but I would have him doing some squats.

Where is the squats and the bench at? If he is not hurt let him use the best exercises out there so he can achieve his goals.