Program Advice Needed

Hello all. I’m new to T-Nation and fairly new to lifting. I’ve been reading posts here for a couple of months and have come to realize that it’s time to dump the crappy lifting program the trainer at the gym gave me. Unfortunately, I have a few issues with most of the beginner plans and am looking for advice.

Before going in to that, though, let me back up a minute and tell you about me: I’m 42 and in lousy shape. I have been making progress, though. I started out the year at 272 pounds and 44% body fat. I’m currently at 239 and 29% BF. I eat clean (for the most part), and am supplementing right now with HOT-ROX and whey protein.

My primary goal at this point is obviously fat loss, but I also want to get strong. Mass gains are secondary for me right now till the fat is gone. At 42, obviously, I don’t have designs on becoming a competitive bodybuilder or powerlifter, I simply want to get strong, be healthy, and look good nekid.

OK, with that in mind, I’ve been looking into the various plans here, but it seems too many of the beginner plans call for a 3 day a week full body workout. I’ve tried this type of plan, but was not recovering quick enough with only 48 hours turnaround. I assume this is partly a function of my age. I thought perhaps a split routine with more like 72 hours in between primary muscle groups would be better suited to my current ability and age.

So, what do you think? Can you point me toward a workout that would be appropriate for a relative beginner like me that also needs a bit more time to recover? I don’t mind going to the gym every day or even twice a day if that’s what it will take, I just don’t want to be wasting my time.

Thanks in advance,
Scott

What does your current program look like?

Chad Waterbury’s 10x3 for Fat Loss has you do just 2 total body workouts per week.