Prof X - Suggestions Please

Prof X,

I’m interested in hearing some of the hip hop and rap tunes you referenced in the MAG-10 Troll thread. Would you mind listing some of the bands/artists you had in mind? I’m deep into the underground electro and industrial scene but would like to hear some non-mainstream hip hop and rap.

Thank

la’
Redsol1

-Talib Kwali
-Mos Def (he also has an HBO poetry gig that he does from time to time…I am into new soul and the rap artists associated with it)

-Common
-Kanye West (more hype but his lyrics are deeper than “I pulled up in my Escalade with my Bling Bling…”)
-The Roots
-Nas

Those are just some of the rap artists I listen to. My taste in music is broad as I write music and was recording and pursuing a record deal until I graduated. This usually leads to people thinking I rap. I don’t.

As far as vocalists:
-Jill Scott
-Erykah Badu
-John Legend (new artist that has one of the first cd’s I can put in the player and let run through the whole thing. The last I could do that with was D’Angelo’s Brown Sugar)
-Mario (his new CD shows he is more than average talent “Let me Love you” as the title track)

Other than that, in my MP3 player, I have Snoop Dogg, Mario, John Legend, DMX, 50 Cent, Linkin Park, Jay-Z, Kenye West, Sean Paul, Usher and Young Buck.

I listen to more than that, but that is what I lift to right now. I am beginning to like Linkin Park whereas I thought they were pretty “fake” at first.

Prof X,

Actually, I really appreciate the recommendations too. The only Kanye West I have in my iPod is “Jesus Walks” which I like for the same reasons you mention - it’s not all Cris poppin’ and bling bling (which I find so incredibly tiresome). I might need to look into getting some more.