Problems With Barbell Snatch

Ok here is the deal. . .

I can DB snatch 80lbs, clear from ground to sky, and its not that hard, not that easy either! I cannot for the life of me take a barbell of 135lbs and get it above my shoulders. I may be missing something very obvious here, I am new to the olympic lifts an all so it could be that I am just not use to it, point blank.

Thank you in advance for any ideas, suggestions.

I think you need to find a qualified olympic weightlifting coach. Where are you located geographically?

In the states:
http://www.msbn.tv/usavision/uploadedimages/usa_weightlifting/pdf/usaw_club_and_college_directory.pdf

Where are you located in Europe?

Ignore what my profile says, I clicked on the wrong shit, tired when I did it, lol. Im over in afghanistan, dont know that many “serious” lifters, I have one in mind, so I will talk with him, I was just woundering if there was any connection b/w DB snatch to BB snatch, i will keep at it anyways though. I got the drive, not the know how, but Im working on that too! Thank you for the help.

Try full ROM overhead squatting for some time

Also, do lots of flexibility work

If strength is a problem, heavy military and push presses might help

Weird. Do you snatch two 80-lbs. dumbbells at the same time?

No I do one DB at a time. I guess I forgot to put that in there, my thought was that if that shoulder, w/ alot of explosiveness, can do that then x that by 2 and maybe I would be around there, obviously this is wrong b/c I cant even do that.

I am guessing that “ROM” = Range of Motion? Another thing is I can take 135 for the BB and explode up to the top of my shoulders but thats where I loose everything, so I am guessing its two things at the moment. . .

1. New to the olympic lifts

2. I need more strength/explosiveness in my shoulders