T Nation

Problems with Back Growth

I have been training serious for about 18 months. For the last 6 - 8 weeks, whenever I train my back, my lats are never sore the next day. Conversely, when I train my chest/legs/delts, I am sore the next day.

I have tried to vary my routine/reps/volume/cadence. But still my lats feel normal the next day.

Can anyone suggest a back routine, specifically targeting the lats (upper and lower) to stimulate growth?

Furthermore, does the trained bodypart have to be sore the next day in order to acknowledge that I have trained properly?

You anticipated response(s) is greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

no, it doesn’t have to be sore. Do a couple sets of max # of pullups before and after your back workout. this usually leaves me sore all day and the next in the back.

you don’t need to be sore for growth.
try stretching your lats in the hang position after heavy sets of pullups. also when you do pullups, go down all the way and start from full hang for each rep.
for general back growth, you could try heavy rack pulls.

I do maintain strict form when doing chins/pulls. But the suggestion put forth by “mike*” sounds good. I’ll do a couple of addtional sets of chins at the end of my back routine.

I was thinking of giving back a break for a fortnight then resume the punishment again. Perhaps that might stimulate it…

Do you feel your back when your working out. Try to really concentrate on feeling the muscle. Oh and i added deadlifts to the end of my back workouts and its gotten thicker.

I like the additional pull-ups idea, and the stretching idea. Additionally, Heavy pullovers, either DB or low-cable pulley (with rope attachment) have been a great way to finish my lats off. It always leaves me sore the next day.
I actually prefer the cable because it keeps tension on the end of the ROM, it feels like you are trying to hold a front lat spread with resistance.