T Nation

Problems with Alternate Grip on Rack Pulls?

Hi everyone, I have been lurking for several months now, but cant seem to find the solution to my problem looking through old threads, so I hope someone here can help me out.

At 6'0, 171, I am a beginner who recently discovered rack pulls, and cant get enough. I have been lifting 275 for the past couple of weeks, and have made more progress than in the past year.

Unfortunately, I have developed bit of a pain around my left shoulder, along with a larger left shoulder, biceps, and triceps. I caught a snippet in an old thread suggesting that this might be caused by using an alternate grip, where the right hand goes over and the left hand goes under. The thread died and no more information was posted.

Does anyone know if an alternate grip may in fact be the cause of shoulder problems, and asymmetry?

[quote]nukepka wrote:
Hi everyone, I have been lurking for several months now, but cant seem to find the solution to my problem looking through old threads, so I hope someone here can help me out.

At 6’0, 171, I am a beginner who recently discovered rack pulls, and cant get enough. I have been lifting 275 for the past couple of weeks, and have made more progress than in the past year.

Unfortunately, I have developed bit of a pain around my left shoulder, along with a larger left shoulder, biceps, and triceps. I caught a snippet in an old thread suggesting that this might be caused by using an alternate grip, where the right hand goes over and the left hand goes under. The thread died and no more information was posted.

Does anyone know if an alternate grip may in fact be the cause of shoulder problems, and asymmetry? [/quote]