Problem Filling Luer Lock Syringes

I’ve Googled this to see if there was a trick but haven’t found anything indicating there is. For the life of me I can’t seem to get the hang of drawing into these. I have no problem with my 27g and 28g insulin syringes at all, although they take a while. I’ve tried both a 3ml 25g and a 1ml 27g luer lock and had problems with both, like taking 10 minutes to get 1ml. All I get is air. I’ve been pinning test cyp 2x week for 7 months with the insulin syringes and have vast other experience with insulin syringes. I gave my previous dog 2x day injections for years and inject my wife’s meds once a week. Is there some trick like not tightening the needle to draw or some other thing?
The liquids I’ve tried are test cyp in both cottonseed and grapeseed oil at 100mg/ml, 200mg/ml and 250mg/ml and some deca at 200mg/ml if that’s relevant.

Always taken too long for me too…call me impatient. I load the syringe with an 18g or 20g in a 1ml syringe and then swap out with a 30g for injection.

2 Likes

You’re probably better off drawing with a “blunt fill” needle. They are usually 18G. That way you’re not blunting you’re injecting needle also.

1 Like

I just ordered some 18g needles. That seems like the easiest solution. Still not sure why I can fill a 28g insulin syringe but not a 25g luer lock :^ /

Seems like the blunt tip would put quite a hole in the stopper.

I use a 23ga to draw and backfill. Mostly because it comes in the box with the amp where I normally buy it in Central America. I works great and doesn’t make a gian hole, and in a pinch I can do the actual injection with one.

I use a 20G to draw my test, then switch needles to inject. Have you tried injecting air into vial first to created a positive pressure before drawing? When I get air, I just push it back into the vial and continue drawing. Of course while keeping everything upside down and the needle tip always submerged in the liquid!