Pro-rated Rent Question?

I’ve got a quick question for you lawyer types out there.

My g/f and I just signed a lease together that is going to start on the 20th of December. For the prorated amount, the apartment complex insists on using 30 days to calculate the daily rate.

This is bullshit to me since there are 31 days in December, making the actual daily rate lower.

Might not sound like much, but it ends up being about $50 more using their calculations than ours. I can easily afford it, but I don’t want to give these money grubbing assholes more than they are entitled.

This is in Virginia, as I’m sure it varies state by state. Anyone familiar with individual state laws on what landlords are allowed to charge for prorated amounts? I’m determined to fight this bullshit.

Thirty days is always used. Well, in california thirty days is always used.

I’m not a lawyer, but I am a landlord.

I wouldn’t be surprised if the law were silent on this, it would seem to be negotiable like other parts of the lease.

If it were me, I would insist on actual days. If it were February, I’d be willing to be they would be singing a different tune.

I have worked in property management, and 30 days is almost always used with prorating rent.

Is your lease silent on this though? A good lease will state something like “Rent Commencement shall be prorated on a 30 day basis…” Bla, Bla, Bla… Or “All amounts due under the Terms of this Lease shall be prorated on a 30 day basis…”

It makes accounting easier. Also, most other notices are supposed to be done on a 30 day basis and it just helps with consistency.

Well there is nothing in the Virginia Landlord Tenant Handbook about pro-rated rents at all:

http://www.dhcd.virginia.gov/HomelessnesstoHomeownership/PDFs/Landlord_Tenant_Handbook.pdf