T Nation

Prime Time, Thursday with DJ

Interesting thing: I was told years ago that many Div One football coaches ask their strength people "how will the team do?" It's amazing because I have become an accurate predictor of the team by the intensity of the effort in the weight room.

I have been mulling this around all morning (I have the day off) and I have concluded...you can't turn discipline/intensity/courage/integrity on and off like a light switch.

So, how may I be of service to you today?

Dan, I don't have any questions yet...maybe as more coffee starts to kick in...?

But, I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for the great and very educational time last Saturday. As a lawyer, I am around professional speakers all the time....and I have to say that you (and the whole lot of the folks presenting) put on as good a show as I have seen.

Also, just read last night the copy of "From the Ground Up" that you put on your DVD (which I picked up Saturday). I strongly recommend it to T-Nation.

In my years of coaching, I found that the best start by having a focus on a quality long term goal. The rest seems to follow in place.

Second day back to work and still in a fog litterally.

Thank you very much. Tomorrow, Kelly is coming over to film the lifting thing. I am hoping to have clarity on this one, too.

"From the Ground Up" is kind of good for free...

Being from South San Francisco, being in the fog just becomes part of life...

Dear Coach,

Predictors of success are notoriously inaccurate, usually because of unforeseen variables. A classic example would be a tremendously strong, prepared, intelligent team that has a string of injuries and finishes far short of expectations.

But if the qualities you mention (discipline/intensity/courage/integrity) have been instilled in the atheletes, then the real winning part has already occurred, hasn't it?

Richard