PRIME TIME STALEY JULY 7, 2005

I’m here for a bit if anyone has questions…

Hello Coach,

What sort of program would you recommend for maximal strength and speed development. I am a martial artist and I want to concentrate on developing these two qualities for a while before I try and pack on some more mass.

I have the following days to train: Monday, Tuesday and Thursday, with MA training on Wednesday and Friday.

thanks,

Craig

I’d do something very compact and abbreviated. O lifts are ideal if you have the skillset.

I’d PROBABLY do 2 workouts per week, using the same exercises each day, but varying the loading parameters.

I’d suggest 4 exercises per workout, something like:

Power Clean/Push Press
Pullups
Bench Press
Squat

Day One is maximal Strength day…perform 6-8 sets of 2-3 reps with a 4-5RM load, resting 3 minutes between sets

Day Two is a speed-strength session…perform the same loading parameters, EXCEPT use a 7-8RM load and rest 1.5 mins between sets.

Don’t add weight on any workout until the sets/reps you’re doing become significantly easier…then add 5 pounds or 5%, whichever is less.

Good luck

[quote]scrooge wrote:
Hello Coach,

What sort of program would you recommend for maximal strength and speed development. I am a martial artist and I want to concentrate on developing these two qualities for a while before I try and pack on some more mass.

I have the following days to train: Monday, Tuesday and Thursday, with MA training on Wednesday and Friday.

thanks,

Craig
[/quote]

Hi Coach Staley,
First I would like to say that I love to read your books and articles. You have some great stuff. I’m a big fan of yours.

I’m looking for a new way to skin a cat. I have herniated disc in my lower lumbar that I’m afraid has brought my squat and deadlift days to an end.

Can you suggest some alternative exercises for maxium lower body hypertrophy?