T Nation

Prime Time: Climbing Everest

Ok Coaches, I’m going to be working with a guy who is going to attempt to climb Mt. Everest next year. Can you guys please give me some main points to cover and things to look into? This is my first time working with a big time atlethe and I want to bust my ass for him

Everest is 29,000 feet, he’s climbed as high as 25,000 before. Since he has exerpeience I’d imagine he’s shoulder in shoulder flexion and in vertical pulling

So please help me out, what are some main points to focus on for his climb but and also on his way down

bump bump bump

well, I’ve been TOLD that what gets you on everst is the altitude; apparently it’s not a very technically difficult climb, so you may need to work the aerobic systems more. I have no idea if thats helpful

coaches please

[quote]bigpump23 wrote:
Ok Coaches, I’m going to be working with a guy who is going to attempt to climb Mt. Everest next year. Can you guys please give me some main points to cover and things to look into? This is my first time working with a big time atlethe and I want to bust my ass for him
[/quote]

So by “my,” you mean that you’re the one doing the work?

Very simply, I’m just trying to say that if you’re prepared enough to take on the responsibility of working with an accomplished/elite athlete, you should have complete faith in your ability to write a program that will help him/her succeed.

Likewise, if he’s paying you, you should be doing the leg work to prepare yourself intellectually for the challenge; this goes beyond simply asking others for help.

Hopefully, this won’t come across as overly harsh, but it’s a lesson you’d be well-off learning early on.