Prepping Questions

Hello! I’m so happy there’s a thread for female athletes on here :slight_smile: Anyway, I am new to lifting (started about 6-7 months ago) and trying to gain muscle and then lean out. I may one day like to compete in a bikini competition… but not sure yet. I really just want to learn how to get my body to reach where I would like it to be. I hear all of these women saying “bulking up” and then “prep”/“lean out”/“shred”… I don’t really understand how to do this!

I am getting married in September 2015, and I want to look at this as if it’s a bikini competition (don’t make fun haha) and have my physique be in tip-top shape. I find it’s hardest for me to lose fat in my mid section (which I never knew) and I gain muscle relatively quickly.

Right now my diet is relatively restrictive. I don’t drink much (1-2 times a month), I don’t really eat sugar (occasionally chocolate), I am gluten free, don’t eat much dairy, have lots of veggies and lean meats and I take Elite protein powder post workout. I also eat 5-6 meals a day and train 4-6 days a week.

When should I begin “prepping”, I have about 7 months. What should my diet consist of? how do I get that really lean mid section.

Thanks in advance for all of your help!

Congrats on your upcoming wedding! And it’s always nice to see women discover lifting.

This isn’t a simple question because it depends on what your goals are, and your current level of fitness. I apologize if I’m telling you stuff you already know.

To loose fat intelligently and in a sustainable way, you need to create a gradual calorie deficit.
To gain muscle, you generally need to eat enough protein to build AND create a calorie surplus. You might see your scale weight go up, but your body composition would improve. You may even loose inches. Unfortunately, you can’t spot reduce your mid-section but it should improve under either plan, IMO.