T Nation

Preparing for Navy BMT

Hello everyone. I'm new to the site (Although I've read a few articles already, very good reads!) and I was wondering if I could get some advice on a training program for the Navy basic training. I realize that it's not nearly as difficult as special forces or even marine basic training, but I still want to be as prepared as possible.

First, a little background information on me. I'm 18 years old and I'm finishing up high school, I'll be done June 15. I leave for basic on July 25th, so that gives me roughly 10 weeks if I start a new program Monday. I'm currently weighing in at around 180 down from 310 in March of last year and then up from 174 the past couple months.

I've been lifting for a few months (Doing the 5x5 program which I just finished up) but I've decided to put my future powerlifting goals out of site now until my military life is either settled or over.

Basically I want to improve my run time (1.5 mile) and endurance, my push-ups, and my sit-ups. I also want to improve my chin-ups as I can barely do 5x5 with body weight (Can only do 1 pull-up so I've been doing chin-ups). Could you guys recommend a training plan?

My current plan has been, starting Monday, to do some sort of weight lifting Mon/Wed/Fri in addition to sprinting/HIIT on Tues/Sat and distance/endurance running on Thurs/Sun. However, I'm sort of clueless on what I should do. I don't think benching would be a good idea as I've noticed my max push-ups going down from 46 to 25ish ever since I started focusing solely on bench/military press for my chest/tricep exercises.