T Nation

Preparing for First Time

Hey everyone

This is my first post on T-Nation but I've been lurking/reading/searching for quite awhile.
Great site with a wealth of info...sometimes pretty funny too!

I'm 31 years old 5'11" 195 lbs at the moment...I've been lifting since I was about 15 yrs old.
Thoughout high school and my early 20's I was in pretty good shape...not probodybuilder shape but I could take my shirt off women would comment on my hot body. I believe I'm a natural mesomorph with decent genetics. I've been working as a landscaper for over 12 years...my job includes a lot of manual labor and often times in spring and early summer I work 12 hour days-6 days a week. I got married and had 2 children and due to time constraints I took a sabatical from lifting for 3 yrs. Those last three years my weight seasonally flucuated during my off time in the winter-when I stay home and watch the kids. I would gain weight and shed weight once I went back to work. I deceided a while ago this winter would be different. I got a membership to a local gym and have been training hard and eating what I think better.

My daily diet usually consists of a cup of coffee with 2 packs of oatmeal - I hit the gym for an hour (20 min cardio warm up, 40 lifting) Drink a protein shake (52 gram protein) have another cup of coffee. Typically lunch would be a Turkey Burger/boneless chicken patty on double protein wheat bread. Dinner is a wildcard as its the only meal with variety but I try to stay sensible. usually I'll eat something a couple hours later like a tunafish sandwich or have a hard boiled egg. I take a daily vitamim thats all for supplements.

My main goal honestly is to look good with my shirt off as I'm always outdoors whether at work, the beach, the boat or on my motorcycle. My wife says I look good now but just a little more muscle would set me off.

So my input I seek regards,training,diet and pharma.