Preparation for Strongman Event

hallo,

long story short I have one year to prepare my self for a strong man event.

there are these local games and I have been training for about 2 years now. first and a half year I was “bodybuilding” and the rest i began to train for strength.

thing is powerlifting is not quite strongman. this was the first time i participated in any event and it’s a mind opener … here’s a short description:

a team of 4 people does the task as a team (we are all quite weak actually, the others are your typical “farm boys”. they have stamina…)

first - we push a big truck for about 15 meters. we run 10m before we start pushing the truck.

second - right after that you carry sand bags (2-3) that weights about 60-70kg for 5-10m and drop it into another truck.

third - you we carry a man in a stretcher for 20m, run back, carrying the stretcher, put another man (team mate) on them (about 70-80kg) and carry the distance once again.

fourth - you have to drag a 33kg box under a 30cm high net.

fifth - you have to flip a tractors tier for 10 times. it weights about 200-250kg but you can do it all together (4 of you)

and you have to do all of this in under 5 minutes. under 4 is preferred. we managed to do it in 4.13 minutes with no preparation … ever. and this is all done with no rest too.

thing is, this was the first time i participated in anything like this. i almost went unconscious in the end (i lost my breath when we were carrying the second man on stretchers).

we took the third place anyhow, and i got an extra “diploma” for not giving up after i could no longer breathe and my mind was somewhere else … they were shouting for amonia … i still finished, BUT it feels like i let my team down. if it was not for that light headed ness we COULD have won the second or even first place… and participated in the next level.